Dr. Irving Victor, 1945 alum, honored by Armstrong State University

Armstrong State University will present its second-ever Eminent Alumni Award to Dr. Irving Victor at its Fourth Annual Alumni Awards Gala on the evening of Friday, October 20, 2017. The Eminent Alumni Award is only presented occasionally an in cases of extraordinary merit. Fifteen other Armstrong alumni will also be honored at the event.

Victor is being recognized for his service to Armstrong, to his profession and to the community. At Armstrong, he served on the Armstrong College Commission before the school became part of the University System of Georgia. He is a past president of the Armstrong Alumni Association and is a member of Armstrong’s Board of Trustees. He is a retired urologist, who established one of the nation’s first emergency medical systems here in Savannah. He has been active with all of the hospitals, the United Way, the Savannah Area Chamber of Commerce and the Coastal Area Planning and Development Commission. Today, he is a successful restauranteur with Vic’s on the River and, at age 95, he remains active in Savannah’s civic and business communities.

The Distinguished Alumni Award will be given to Seacrest Partners vice president Cliff McCurry, who attended Armstrong in the late 1960s. The Outstanding Alumni Award will be given to HunterMaclean partner Drew Ernst, class of 1974. Thirteen alumni will receive the Notable Alumni Award. They are:

Sherry Danello, Class of 1979, Vice President of Patient Care Services at St. Joseph’s/Candler
Joseph Ferraro, Class of 1993, Senior Manager of Quality Control Services at GAF Materials Corporation
Kevin Fitzmaurice, Class of 2002, Outdoor Lighting Lead Product Engineer for Southern Company
Dorothy Kempson, Classes of 2000, 2002, 2006 and 2014, Director of Armstrong’s Liberty Center in Hinesville
Lamar Kirkley, Class of 1975, Advancement Associate & Head Boys Tennis Coach at Savannah Country Day School
Ginger Masingill, Class of 1968, Academic Auditor at Savannah Chatham County Public School System
Daniel Massey, Class of 1976, Clerk of Chatham County Superior Court
Krista Mincey, Class of 2007, Assistant Professor of Public Health at Xavier University of Louisiana
Patrick O’Neil, Class of 2001, Savannah Market President for Bank of America
Pamela Parker (deceased), Class of 1984, formerly Senior Vice President of Ameris Bank
David Plaspohl, Class of 1977, Product Manager of North America Estate Management for Verifone
Henry Precht, Class or 1951, Former Country Director of the U.S. Embassy in Iran (1978-1980)
Patti Victor, Class of 1976, President and CEO of The Matthew Reardon Center for Autism

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Avatar photo
Written by
Jennifer Hilliard Scott

Jennifer Hilliard Scott is Director of Communications at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University. Contact her to schedule an interview on this topic or with one of our experts at 706-721-8604 or jscott1@augusta.edu.

View all articles
Leave a reply