Tay Earns Prestigious Hollenback Prize

Dr. Franklin Tay (Endodontics Residency, 2007), Chair of the Augusta University Department of Endodontics, has received the prestigious 2025 Hollenback Memorial Prize from the Academy of Operative Dentistry (AOD).

The Hollenback Prize is awarded to a researcher who has contributed substantially to the advancement of restorative dentistry. Research of a broad range is considered, spanning the investigative spectrum from fundamental to applied, and encompassing all levels of investigation from prevention of dental disease to development of improved materials and techniques.

“This prestigious award symbolizes not only the recognition of my dedication and contributions to the field of restorative dentistry but also serves as a testament to the hard work and innovation that have driven my career,” Tay said.

Tay’s research is focused on dentin bonding (previously), collagen mineralization and antimicrobial materials, and supported by his substantial grant acquisitions and prolific publications.

“My research, which spans from dentin bonding to collagen mineralization and antimicrobial materials, has always aimed at advancing dental science and improving patient care. Being acknowledged by such a respected institution affirms that my efforts are making a meaningful impact,” Tay said.

He has led groundbreaking research projects in dentin bonding and in the biomineralization of collagen matrices. He is presently ranked 79th among top scientists in the field of Materials Science in the United States and 182nd in the world. His D-index is 132, with 617 publications and 59,385 citations.

“Dr. Tay’s work has undoubtedly improved the lives of countless patients by developing new methods for preventing dental disease and restoring oral health,” said Dr. Nancy Young, Dean of The Dental College of Georgia.

In 2019, Tay was recognized by the Journal of Investigative and Clinical Dentistry for being tied for the fourth most productive dental researchers in the world. He has also served as Associate Editor for the Journal of Dentistry and for the Journal of Endodontics.

During his career, Tay has held various academic appointments, including roles as a research scientist, associate professor, and professor across multiple departments at Augusta University. He has been instrumental in numerous administrative and supervisory roles, including Director of Postgraduate Endodontics.

And in those many roles, he has made hundreds of meaningful connections. Tay says that research is a cooperative pursuit, with support from students, residents and staff; advice and collaboration from colleagues, review from peers in the publishing industry and feedback from the larger scientific community.

“The Hollenback Award is not just a personal achievement; it is a reflection of the collaborative efforts of my colleagues, mentors, and students who have supported and inspired me throughout my journey. It reinforces the importance of continued research and development in dental materials and techniques, encouraging me to push the boundaries of what is possible in operative dentistry.

“It reminds me of the responsibility I have to mentor the next generation of dental professionals, sharing knowledge and fostering a spirit of inquiry and excellence. Ultimately, winning the Hollenback Award is a profound acknowledgment of my work and a catalyst for future innovations in the field,” Tay said.

“We are incredibly fortunate to have Dr. Tay as a leader at the Dental College of Georgia. His passion for dentistry is contagious, and his commitment to mentorship inspires both faculty and students,” Young said.

Tay earned a Bachelor of Dental Clinical Sciences with First Class Honors at the University of Queensland in Brisbane, Australia, in 1981; and he earned a PhD in Dentistry at the University of Hong Kong in 1998. He is a fellow of the International College of Dentistry, a fellow of the Academy of Dental Materials and a Diplomate of the American Board of Endodontics. He was awarded the 2011 William Gies Award from the International Association for Dental Research/American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research.

The Academy of Operative Dentistry promotes excellence in operative dentistry by influencing the practice of the health professions in organized dentistry, health science education and research.

You can see a list of all Hollenback winners since 1975 here.

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Avatar photo
Written by
Stacey Hudson

Stacey Hudson is communications coordinator for the Dental College of Georgia.

View all articles